Annual IATDP Conference Awards

2018 Award Nomination Forms

At each annual conference, IATDP presents a Person of the Year and Program of the Year award. The person of the year award is named after our long time Executive Director, Jimmie Thacker, Jr., who passed a few years ago. More information regarding each award, and instructions as to how nominate, can be found via the links below.

IATDP 2018 Program of the Year Award Nomination

IATDP 2018 Jimmie Thacker Person of the Year Award Nomination

Previous Conference Awards

2017  Awards

  • Program of the Year – GOAL program -Greater Omaha Attendance and Learning Services Program (
  • Person of the Year – Judge Steven R.  Nation – for his Indiana Youth Assistance Program (
  • Truancy Champion – Prosecutor of the year – Kristen Martin
  • Outstanding Education Administrator – James Taylor,  MSW, Calvin Burrows
  • Most Valuable Conference Coordinator – Karen Sweeny, Craig Campbell
  • Change Agent – World Leader Awards – Dr. David Heyne, Beverly Reynolds, Edward Broaster, Dr.  Yvonne Larrier, Dr. Caroline Babasola, Dr. Carolyn Gentle-Genitty, Dr. Nicola Bird, Ken Reid, Dr.  James Brown

2016  Awards

  • Program of the Year – 21st Judicial District Court (Louisiana) Juvenile Drug Court and Dropout Prevention Team
  • Person of the Year – Stephen Sroka

2015  Awards

This year the award will be presented as group organizations for the program of the year award.

  • Police Department
  • The Attorney District Office
  • Sherriff Department
  • People First
  • Operation Safe Community
  • Shelby County Schools

Individual Award – Larry Williams.  He has been involved with the Student Attendance Review Board for a number of years. He works for Case Management Inc.

2014  Awards

  • Person of Year – Terry Johnson and the
  • Program of the Year – MOP–Indiana

2013  Awards

  • Persons of the Year – Ronnie Nolan, Director, Kentucky Educational Collaborative for State Agency Children and Jimmie Thacker (TN).
  • Programs of the Year – MCS Truancy Intervention & Prevention – Memphis City Schools and Douglas County Attorney’s Office Truancy Diversion Program, Omaha, Nebraska.

2012  Awards

  • Person of the Year – Ruby Smith (LA)
  • Program of the Year – Juvenile Impact Program, Denton County Sheriffs’ Office, Denton, TX.

2011  Awards

  • Person of the Year – Rupert Boneham
  • Program of the Year – Sinclair Community College Fast Forward Center, Dayton Ohio.

2010  Awards

  • Person of the Year – John Hill (LA).
  • Program of the Year – Franklin Schargel Consulting “Dropout Prevention Strategies”.
  • The Founders Grant Recipients are “The Citadel School of Education – Gear Up”, Charleston, SC; “Lewis and Clark School”, Bronx, NY; and Recovery High School”, Indianapolis, IN.

2009  Awards

  • Person of the Year – Quincy Murdock (KY)
  • Program of the Year Award – Phoenix Academy, Franklin County Public Schools, Kentucky
  • The Founders’ Grant Winners – Elaine Preston “Response to Intervention: Literacy Based Dropout Prevention”, Ashland Independent Schools, Ashland Kentucky;  Edwin Ray “Positive Behavior Support”, Jennings High School, Jennings Louisiana; Kellee Gray “Where Everyone Belongs”, Shadow Ridge Middle School, Thornton, Colorado.

2008  Awards

  • Person of the Year – David Gullet (LA)
  • Program of the Year Award – Truancy Abatement Program from Albany, NY.
  • The Sponsor of the Year – Sprint

2007  Award

  • Person of the Year Award – Woodie Cheek (KY)
  • Program of the Year Award – Bossier/Webster Truancy Assessment and Service Center – Louisiana.
  • Sponsor of the Year – Sprint

2006  Award

  • Person of the Year Award – Jimmie Thacker (TN)
  • Program of the Year Award – “Project Grad”, Knoxville, Tennessee