# INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR TRUANCY AND DROPOUT PREVENTION

### **STANDING COMMITTEES 2012-13**

The chairperson(s) of each standing committee will be responsible for the activities described. Committee progress reports will be submitted to the Executive Board at mid-year for review. Committee final reports will be submitted to the Board of Directors at the Annual Conference. Members who are interested in serving on a committee are encouraged to contact the committee chairperson(s). Members who have information that would contribute to the activities of a committee should also contact the committee chairperson(s).

# **AUDITING COMMITTEE**

Will meet at the Annual Conference to report at the Annual Business Meeting on the financial status of the Association during the prior fiscal year. Members in good standing are invited to serve on the committee.

CHAIRPERSON: John Simmons (LA)

**MEMBERS:** Jackie Williams (SC)

Richard Comly (DE)

Henrietta Pryor (TX

### **AWARDS COMMITTEE**

Will select award recipients from applications for awards <u>submitted by March 1 of each year.</u> Application for awards <u>may be submitted by the membership.</u> Recipients are not required to be members of the association. The committee will secure appropriate plaques and <u>certificates for presentation</u> at the Annual Conference Banquet. The committee will review those "traditional" resolutions such as expressions of appreciation and the like, and recommend to the Board of Directors which of these activities could be routinely handled by either the president or secretary so as not to take time from the business meeting. The committee will be chaired by the Third Vice President. All members of the Executive Board will serve as members of the committee.

**CHAIRPERSON: Carolyn Gentle-Genitty (IN)** 

MEMBERS:Wendy Brower (TX)Henrietta Pryor (TX)Alice Nichols (LA)Jimmie Thacker (TN)Gary brazil (TX)Brian Hartsell (TN)

David L. House, II (OH)

Mavis Ellis (MD)

### **CONFERENCE COMMITTEE**

Will approve the program, the financial, and the physical arrangements for the Annual Conference as developed by the local conference committee. Will encourage local affiliates to initiate an official bid to host future conferences. This committee will be chaired by the President-Elect and co-chaired by the Executive Director and the host conference coordinator. This committee will provide evaluation of all conferences. All members of the Executive Board and the chairman of the present conference will serve as members of the committee.

Mavis Ellis (MD)

Edward Foster (LA)

Stan Truman (MD)

CHAIRPERSONS: Wendy Brower (TX) and Jimmie Thacker (TN)

**MEMBERS:** David L. House, II (OH)

Ronnie Land (LA) Carolyn Gentle-Genitty (IN) Sabrina Finlay (MD) Ken Kippenbrock (KY) Ruby W. Smith (LA) Alice Nichols (LA) Jackie Williams (SC)

Evelyn Joray (MD)

John Simmons (LA) Charlotte Blanchard (LA) Brian Hartsell (TN)

Henrietta Pryor (TX)

Gary Brazil (TX)

### CONSTITUTION COMMITTEE

Will serve as the interpretive body of the association. Will recommend to the Board of Directors for presentation to the membership proposed changes in the Constitution and By-Laws. The committee will be chaired by the First Vice President. Members in good standing are invited to serve on the committee.

CHAIRPERSON: David L. House, II (OH)

**MEMBERS:** Richard Comly (DE)

Lawrence De Coste (RI) Joe Inman (TX)

### **FINANCE COMMITTEE**

Will prepare a budget for the upcoming fiscal year. The committee will be chaired by the Second Vice President. Members in good standing are invited to serve on the committee.

CHAIRPERSON: Gary Brazil (TX)

MEMBERS: Jackie Williams (SC) Brain Hartsell (TN)

John Simmons (LA) Stan Truman (MD)

### PUBLIC RELATIONS/MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Will work to maintain and to promote membership in the association. Shall serve as the Credentials Committee at the Annual Business Meeting. The committee will be co-chaired by the Executive Director and the Third Vice President. All members of the Board of Directors shall serve as members of the committee. Members in good standing are invited to serve on the committee.

# CHAIRPERSONS: Carolyn Gentle-Genitty (IN) and Jimmie Thacker (TN) MEMBERS:

USA ARIZONA APRIL IGNACIO COLORADO KIM ORTIZ DELAWARE HON. RICHARD COMLY

HON. WILLIAM P. WOOD
GEORGIA
TAMERA FOLEY
INDIANA
CYNTHIA BARRON
KENTUCKY
KEN KIPPENBROCK
LOUISIANA
PHILIP BULLER
EDWARD FOSTER
RONNIE LAND
FRANK PASQUE
JOHN SIMMONS

RUBY W. SMITH

MARYLAND EVELYN JORAY STAN TRUMAN MICHIGAN

PAULETTE LAGARADE-SPRAGGINS

MISSOURI
BETTY J. HOWARD
NEW JERSEY
STEVEN MITCHELL
NEW YORK
NICOLE RODLER
RHODE ISLAND
LAWRENCE DECOSTE
SOUTH CAROLINA
JACKIE WILLIAMS
TENNESSEE
CALVIN BURROWS
DOMINIQUE CASH
RONALD POPE

TEXAS
NATE HEARNE
ANDREL YN MOSS
ANN JACKSON
TERRI JOHNSON
CHARLEY SMITH
WISCONSIN
KENYATTA SINCLAIR

C A N A D A
ONTARIO
DON YOUNG
BRITISH COLUMBIA
LIZ SEITZ
MANITOBA
ROBERT SADLER
UNITED KINGDOM
ANI GRIFFITHS
ENGLAND
STEVE NIXON
NORTHERN IRELAND
PAMELA WOODS

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

# Will prepare a list of candidates for officers and members of the Board of Directors and post it at least twenty-four (24) hours prior to the annual business meeting. Additional nominations may be make from the floor at the annual business meeting. Confirmation of willingness to stand for election to an office of the association shall be in the hands of the chairman of the Nominating Committee by the date of the annual business meeting each year. No one shall accept nomination for the office of President-Elect unless he/she indicates willingness and availability to assume the office of the President. Recommendations to the Nominating Committee from state and provincial organizations for membership on the Board of Directors shall be made on or before June 15 of each year. If no recommendations are received by the above date, the Nominating Committee will proceed to designate nominees without further preference to the state or provincial organizations. A short article shall be published in the May issue of the JOURNAL notifying the membership of the June 15 deadline. The committee will consist of six (6) members in addition to the chairman. Three (3) members shall be selected from the Board of Directors and three (3) members from the general membership.

CHAIRPERSON: Alice Nichols (LA)

MEMBERS: Kim Ortiz (CO) Ruby Smith (LA) Paulette Lagarde-Spraggins (MI)

Sabrina Finlay (MD) Charley Smith (TX) Stan Truman (MD)

# **RESEARCH COMMITTEE**

Will direct any research appropriate for the association as approved by the Executive Committee and/or the President. Will have the responsibility of monitoring legislative activities and keeping the membership informed of such actions. Will develop and promote legislative activity and/or resolutions in the interest of pupil personnel workers/students. Members in good standing are invited to serve on this committee.

**CHAIRPERSON: Gary Brazil (TX)** 

MEMBERS: Lawrence De Coste (RI) Paulette Lagarde-Spraggins (MI)

Tom Canfield (PA) Brian Hargett (NY)
Doug Fruchtenicht (KY)